ISA Research Committee 34 Business Meeting

Tuesday 17th July 2018 Toronto, Canada

The Organisational Secretary Howard Williamson welcome everybody to the meeting and invited the President of rc34 to speak.

Outgoing President Ani Wierenga highlight a few of the achievements during her four-year term of office:

- The increase in membership and engagement throughout the world (200+ members in 50+ countries)
- > The involvement of rc34 in a number of conferences and events throughout the world
- The developing of the twice-yearly International Bulletin of Youth Research, with thanks to Maurizio Merico
- > A number of publications deriving from networks and contacts established through rc34
- The commitment of members of the Executive Board and the Advisory Board, to whom thanks were expressed
- The successful work of the Program Committee for both the ISA Forum in Vienna (2016) and the World Congress in Toronto (2018)

The Organisational Secretary acknowledged the support of a private sector CEO for helping to support the President's attendance at a conference in India. He also mentioned the ongoing work on the History of rc34, expressing particular thanks to Helena Helve for her recent contribution to this, and to Lyudmila Nurse and Silvia Trnka in their absence.

The Treasurer reported on the financial position of rc34.

The meeting then proceeding to the election of the new Executive Board. Most positions had secured nominations but were not contested. The Organisational Secretary reported that voting had been very close for all three positions that were contested (President, VP Europe, and VP North Africa and the Near East). There were good (different) reasons for appointing all candidates to the Executive Board, which was permissible within the statutes of the ISA, subject to the consent of the Business Meeting. The rationale for the proposal was further explained, securing the support of the Business Meeting. The Secretary announced that **Sharlene Swartz** had been elected President; she immediately invited **Ana Miranda** to become the Deputy President.

It was also proposed that the role of Organisational Secretary and Treasurer should be divided in two. The new President invited **Howard Williamson** to continue as Organisational Secretary. **Natalia Waechter** would be the Treasurer.

From the floor, the point was made that the agreed positions for the next four years should not become a precedent and that the former model for the Executive Board should be the starting point for nominations and elections in 2022. This was supported by the Business Meeting.

The Executive Board 2018-2022:

President Deputy President Immediate Past President Organisational Secretary Treasurer IBYR Co-ordinator VP Northern America VP Northern America VP Sub-Saharan Africa VP Sub-Saharan Africa VP North Africa & 'Near East' VP North Africa & 'Near East' VP Asia VP Asia VP Asia VP Oceania VP Europe	Sharlene Swartz Ana Miranda Ani Wierenga Howard Williamson Natalia Waechter Maurizio Merico Sampson Blair Ada Cora Freytes Frey Kiran Odhav Abeer Musleh Ali Tajmazinani Vinod Chandra Steven Ngai Dan Woodman Airi-Alina Allaste Sarah Pickard
VP Europe VP Europe	Sarah Pickard Ilaria Pitti

The incoming President Sharlene Swartz thanked the immediate past President Ani Wierenga for her contribution to rc34, as President, over the past four years.